Little Legs

Hello all!  My Name is Erika and I am a runner.

That is to say that I love to run, that I get up each morning wondering what I can do to make myself a better runner as I go about my day.  I’m a 30 year old catering manager but in my mind, I am a runner, eater and writer of the world.  I love to push myself and try and make myself better.

It wasn’t always the case though.  In January of 2016 I woke up and realized that I was heavier than I had ever been.  I’m 4 foot 11 inches and at the time was 165 pounds.  On an almost five foot frame, that is…well not good.  I started working out and trying to eat better.  I worked on the 21 day fix and loved watching the pounds come off but I longed for something more.  So I started running.

It wasn’t long before I fell in love with the process.  Though I wasn’t where I wanted to be and certainly didn’t have the gazelle-like bodies of so many people I saw on my instagram feed, I started running…little by little until I realized that I could do so much more.  I started to train and eventually in December of 2016 ran my first half marathon with a respectable time of 2:29 minutes.

It was like a light went off in my head.  I didn’t have to have a runners body to be a runner.  That would come in time.  I could run and if I could, I should.  Not only have I dropped 30 pounds in the past year, but I have more importantly recognized the strength of my body and learned to respect what it can do if I put my mind to it.

This blog will be about running, training, eating and friendship along with self love.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

