I Love Me a Good 10k

There is just something about a 10k to me that is the perfect training distance.  I love them.  You work but you’re not sprinting.  You have to pace yourself but you can still push yourself.  Its long enough for you to find a groove and fall into it without it being over in the last minute.

I’ve run half marathons and I’ve run a ton of 5ks but there is just something about the 10k that is so blissful.  Its like you can find everything you need.  I ran in the Run for the Hills 10k in Bulverde Texas last week and let me tell you, it was a beautiful run.  All country roads and back paths.  Honestly, it was utter perfection for me.   That is saying

That is saying a lot since when I ran my last 10k two weeks before it was an utter disaster (If you’re a woman you know what I’m talking about…right in the middle of the run).  Shaving a good 4 minutes off my time and finishing feeling much much much stronger meant a lot to me.  Then there was the fact that this is the first time I have actually medaled in anything running related!  I was 3rd in my age group and actually placed so that was a nice surprise.

tumblr_opjfsiywBf1vn16n8o1_540

Not only that but it was also my running partner Jess’s first ever 10k!  I had been training for it for 12 weeks with her and she had to miss the first one that we had planned (The Fiesta Missions 10K in San Antonio).  But, honestly, I think this one was a better fit for her so small blessings!

18301514_10103355329689455_6157557515061973865_nHere is my girl, crossing the finish line!

 

Leave a Reply

